Waay to easy "factory default" !!

Today i was working on my WEM3080T and i accidentally clicked "Factory default" button on deveice's page. Surprise!!! Device went into factory reset WITHOUT ANY warning, WITHOUT ANY asking for confirmation, nothing... i had to re-enter my WiFi data to made it work again.


I think that going into such important state as factory default is absolutely not permissible without additional confirmation. This is HUGE bug in your FW, so please, consider to change that  ASAP. Pleeeease!!!

Thread Status
4
119
2
0
0

Sort replies by:

Hi:


where did you click the "Factory default" button,in app or the webpage of the device?

Firstly, thanks for your suggestion 

But as you said, although it is called "factory default", it will only affect the wifi configuration, I do not think it is a very serious problem.

Anyway, I will forward this suggestion to my RD colleague.



I clicked it at web page of device. Ok, this page isn’t visited often, but still this should still ask to confirm. Yes, it only deletes wifi data, but i was working on VPN and i wasn’t at home, so clicking it resulted in loosing data uploading for quite a few hours until i came home and entered wifi data again.

I don’t call it urgent, but do have it in mind when publishing next FW update.

let me confirm what had happen again.
1 you visit this device via a VPN. and click the "factory default" by mistake.
2 the device lost connection with the router, so you can not visit the device from VPN again.

Is this description correct?

I clicked it at web page of device. Ok, this page isn’t visited often, but still this should still ask to confirm. Yes, it only deletes wifi data, but i was working on VPN and i wasn’t at home, so clicking it resulted in loosing data uploading for quite a few hours until i came home and entered wifi data again.I don’t call it urgent, but do have it in mind when publishing next FW update.

Yes, correct.

Ok, in my case i visited device’s site via VPN, but i could visit it from my home network, it would be the same - device goes offline (it enters access point mode).

Only thing i wanted to point out is that if a man clicks on “factory default” then web page SHOULD double-check by asking “are you sure?”. Otherwise device goes directly to factory default and “start from scratch” is needed. Click by mistake can happen…

Looks like you are new here. Register for free, learn and contribute.